The Difference between Shariah (Fiqh) and Aqeedah

Consider the degrees of halal (what is lawful) and haram (what is unlawful – and sinful) in Islam. There are 5 degrees:

  1. Fard, Wajib: This is Obligatory: You MUST do this. No excuses. Severe in punishment for failure.
  2. Mustahabat*: This is Preferred or Rewardable: For example, Qiyyum al-Layl; fasting in Shawwal; i.e. doing the Sunnah.
  3. Haram: This is Forbidden or Illegal.
  4. Makruh#: This is Hated or Disliked: i.e. it is better to avoid it for more Taqwa (piety; fear of ALLAH) – but it is not haram.
  5. Mubah: This is Allowance: For example, to eat meat… there is silence about it – it’s not haram, not mustahabat and not makruh. It’s just O.K..

*Mustahabat are those actions that if performed will achieve rewards, but if these actions are not done, they will not incur a sin.

# Makruh are those actions that if is performed will not acquire a sin, but if they are avoided will gain a reward.

Continue reading “The Difference between Shariah (Fiqh) and Aqeedah”


The Story of Bus No. 35

Bowed Balcony

Have you heard the Story of the Bus number 35?

This story was told to me by Sheikh Fakhriy al Qaisi:


Sheikh Fakhriy al Qaisi’s Tale

He said:

Once, he heard about a man in Iraq, who was in hospital and who had broken both his arms and legs. Rumour spread about this man. And the Islamic culture favours visiting the sick. And so the Sheikh found himself visiting the man with the broken arms and legs. The Sheikh saw many people, paying their respects to him, and they made dua’at for him. When eventually the Sheikh made his way to him, the man said, jokingly, that the Sheikh was probably jealous because of the attention (and dua’at) he was gaining from the people rather than the sheikh. Or perhaps this was a sarcastic remark at his own condition. Regardless, the Sheikh asked the man what happened to him – how did he get himself into such a condition?


The Hospitalised Man’s Tale

The man said:

Continue reading “The Story of Bus No. 35”